Monday, March 29, 2010

2009 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The 2009 Bram Stoker Awards were presented over the weekend at the World Horror Convention in Brighton, England. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan, the Silver Hammer Award went to Kathryn Ptacek, the President's Richard Laymon Service Award went to Vince Liaguno and the Specialty Press Award went to Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker from Tartarus Press. Here are the other Stoker Award recipients:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Audrey's Door by Sarah Langan

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Damnable by Hank Schwaeble

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

The Lucid Dreaming by Lisa Morton

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

In the Porches of My Ears by Norman Prentiss (published in Postscripts #18)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

He is Legend edited by Christopher Conlon

Superior Achievement in a Collection

A Taste of Tenderloin by Gene O’Neill

Superior Achievement in Nonfiction

Writers Workshop of Horror by Michael Knost

Superior Achievement in Poetry

Chimeric Machines by Lucy A. Snyder


Will Errickson said...

Wow, I don't know any of these! I have really not kept up with horror writers... AUDREY'S DOOR sounds pretty cool, though.

Colum McKnight said...

This year's winners didn't really grab me as past winners have. Maybe I just have my fingers on the wrong pulse in horror literature...

Dr. Heckle said...

I love scary movies too. I never knew there were Bram Stoker awards. Very cool!

Jerome Samson said...

Being a vampire is not what it seems like. It’s a life full of good, and amazing things. We are as human as you are.. It’s not what you are that counts, but how you choose to be. Do you want a life full of interesting things? Do you want to have power and influence over others? To be charming and desirable? To have wealth, health, and longevity? contact the vampires creed today via email: